Benjamin Della Rosa Design and Illustration

16 May

Ben Della Rosa is definitely one of my favorite local graphic designers, and happens to be our dear Rose’s husband. You can spot his work all around the modern community in Sacramento: Eichlerific blog, Scout Living, Blockhouse Modern and even right here on Mimomito. He does screen printing at Interval Press, too!

Here are some of my favorite examples of work:

I’m so excited that I was able to do this interview with him. He is so talented and if you’re looking for someone to do exceptional graphic design work for you, hit him up!

What brought you into the world of design?

My High school art teacher; to be honest. Art and creativity played a major roll in my life since I was a kid and I always knew I wanted to do something that involved those, I just wasn’t sure in what capacity. My art teacher really helped me narrow down what I wanted to focus on and suggested I look into perusing an education in Graphic Design.

What do you like about vintage design?

I love the forms and colors in MCM illustration. A lot of the illustrators from that era they all just kind of broke the rules. Everything is really streamlined and simplified, that was the biggest draw for me.

When did mid century design begin influencing your personal style?

When I really started focusing on working with silkscreen in 2008 I naturally gravitated towards it. My love for MCM was always there but the specific limitations in the printing process served as an outlet for me.

What MCM era designers can you always count on to bring you inspiration?

I’m a big fan of Charley Harper, Aurelius Battaglia, Jim Flora.

Are there any modern designers that also inspire you?

Genndy Tartakovsky, Sanjay Patel, Hoefler & Frere-Jones, Billy Baumann

Why do you choose to screen print instead of something easier?

I certainly have a have a love hate relationship with silkscreening, but I don’t think there was ever a choice for me. I do it because I like to create with my hands, it’s nice to get into the studio and talk with my colleagues and get messy after sitting in my office at my computer all day. I like to be able hold things in my hands, feeling the texture of ink on paper and the uniqueness of every print these are all things that are lost to digital mediums or a digital print. I would said that’s the main reason why I print, the trend that design is moving in these days is web, and the thought of not being able to work with my hands makes me sad.

What other mediums would you like to work in?

I would love and hope to someday soon be able to work with a letter press. I’d also like to work with motion graphics.

What are some of the favorite pieces you’ve done?

Man that’s like being asked to pick your favorite child. Although here are a several posters and identities that I feel pushed me as a designer: Garrett Pierce, Evan Bailey, Let Freedom Bling, CRA Holiday Card Animation, Indigan, Davepops, and Scout Living.

Are you currently accepting new clients?

I’m always excited to work with new clients, especially those who want to create something fun and memorable.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

