Around town: St. Patricks thriftstore

20 Sep


I recently went to St. Patricks on Franklin. St. Patricks is a little rustic looking but great for digging and finding a little piece of history that is sweet to your heart.

I really want one of these old timey t.v’s so’s I can put another t.v on it. I think it would be eye pleasing and hopefully make me laugh a little everyonce in awhile.


Look at the fabirc on that couch!


I lurve long coffee tables! Also peep that rad looking owl wall sculpture.


Me and Ben recently got a bunch of kitchen stuff from our wedding registry. When I see stuff like this it makes me wish we were somehow able to register on craigslist or thriftstores (I bet that sounds terrible). I am thinking if this guy didnt work he would look just as great with a durble and tiny plant inside him.


Now we move onto my new obsession sweet book covers.


This is a book that California provided to all youngsters in the 50’s. So if you have a grandpa who was in elementary shool in California at that time. Use this time travel machine to help him share some memories with you. Trust me, he will love you for that and you’ll thank yourself when you have kids.


This type on here makes my head swirl. It is great.

In my 7th grade gym class we had to learn how to square dance. It was pretty much everything angsty pre-teen shows like degrassi depict of such things: it made me nervous, wish that my mother allowed me to shave my legs, I wondered why my partner had such sweaty hands, then wondered if it was actually my hands that were moist, and then I was thankfull that I actually had a partner and wasn’t the couple of girls not picked who had to take turns dancing with our gym teacher Mr. Wiltse (he wore really short shorts and a sweatshirt all the time-which doesnt make much sense to me). I remember one of the funniest things about this was all of us were absolutely appalled and terrified to hold our partners hand or even get close enough to them to bump shoulders for that matter. It got so bad that our teachers made the rule of no not touching (that sounds pretty creepy). If you were caught pretending to hold hands you got sent to the square a lonely box drawn onto the black asphalt of our basketball court. I think a couple of people caught on to how awesome this punishment was and the charges were increased to detention. Anyways there are a number of emotions/ self conscious thoughts that this brought about in my pre-teen life. Things like ‘Oh gawd why isn’t he touching my hand, is there something wrong with me, did I forget to wash my P.E shorts, it’s my hair isn’t it, I told my mom I wanted Jordans not Athletech.’ My self criticism went beyond anything related to square dancing or physical activity at all. I soon began to absolutely dread 1st period. Which is something of an idea for those of you with kids who want to give you’re chilrun a teaspoon of humility…put them in square dancing. It’s not only the too soon/not ready to be this mature contact that makes them squirm from so much emotional discomfort it’s the wild awkward things square dancing makes you do. But there’s a great opportunity to be had in all of that. When and if a 13 year old can live a little by not being so obsessed with what their peers think of them they may get to the root of all that awkward not touching hands but pretending to hoopla. It’s this-that every single person in that gym room is a bunch of losers that are too afraid and self conscious to hold anyone else’s hand but their mom’s. So do si do my friends. Do si do.

17 Responses to “Around town: St. Patricks thriftstore”

  1. Serene September 20, 2010 at 1:20 am #

    I like how this blog is an outlet for our childhood foibles and psychological idiosyncrasies.

  2. Toni September 20, 2010 at 3:24 am #

    Do you happen to remember how much that coffee table was going for?

  3. joemountain September 21, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    Los centos Toni. :[ All of my pictures of the price tags came out really blurry (I need a new lens). I tried looking through the blur last night…and it was either 20,70,10. That’s not very helpful. But I dont remember walking away from it and thinking that it was a ridiculous price.

  4. Toni September 21, 2010 at 2:54 am #

    You guys inspired me to make the trip there today and I found that it was $20. That store is the closest thrift store to my house and I don’t know how I have never made my way there.

    As for the table, I liked it but I am looking for an all wood, longer coffee table. My couch is 8ft long (I’m sure you probably saw it on CList before I bought it) and I’ve been searching for something that won’t look awkward paired with it.

    Did you happen to make it to the Goodwill Outlet?

  5. joemountain September 21, 2010 at 4:34 am #

    I did make it to the outlet (working on the post riiiight now ha). I actually stopped by St. Patty’s on the way back to see the table for you.
    I’ll keep in mind though that you’re looking for a really long coffee table (they are my favorite things to search for). Something wonderful is bound to turn up. :D

  6. toni September 21, 2010 at 5:35 am #

    Thanks, that would be awesome.

    Are there any other thrift stores that I should check out? I usually stick to all the goodwills, eco thrift and thrift town.

  7. joemountain September 21, 2010 at 7:15 am #

    Theres a thrift store across the street from sac balloons 5165 Auburn Blvd. Sacramento, California 95841 that is pretty good. I dont remember seeing any great furniture but did find some sunset books that were decently priced and some kitchen appliances.
    Also ST. Vincents is GGGGGREEEAT. We bought our couch there for a 100 dollars. I might head out to either one tomorrow. If I do Ill post some of the stuff they have.

  8. Toni September 21, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    Perhaps I’ll stop by both of those tomorrow after I check out the Antique Mall. I’m excited to explore new places! Do you guys go to yard sales/ estate sales also?

  9. joemountain September 21, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    I use to go waaaay back with my mother in teenage years. But I work saturday and sunday until three. Last time i went was on my bachelorette party. I loved it-thee haggling, the driving, the finding (perfect start to a party). If I could go more I would def hit those up. Thankfully I atleast have a friend who goes regularly and keeps an eye out for me. She found an eames management repro for us and got it for 20 bucks.

  10. Toni September 21, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    That’s awesome. Is there anything that you’re looking for specifically? I can make sure I keep an eye out. I try to go every weekend, so I’m bound to find something that you’d want.

    Also, I’m pretty obsessed with this blog (obviously). If you’re ever looking for an additional contributor, I can be your lady!

    • Serene September 21, 2010 at 11:13 am #

      we should all get together and discuss our thrifty tactics and maybe even explore some suburban megathrift stores! If I didn’t love sleeping til noon I’d want to get out and see some of these estate sales you know all about! Maybe I can set 15 alarms to go off one of these days.

  11. Toni September 21, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    That is a wonderful idea. I’ve actually been thinking about traveling to thrift stores/ estate sales one of these days. I feel like things would be less picked through in places like Colfax, Placerville or Vacaville.

    If you’re seriously interested in estate sales, I can get you on some e-mailing lists.

  12. joemountain September 21, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    YES. I have been desperately wanting to travel outside of Sacramento. One of our friends is from folsom and he picked up this really sweet military jacket from a thrift store for real cheap. Me, Serene and Jen have also thought about Reno because they gots stuff like-https://mimomito.wordpress.com/2010/09/05/craigslistreno-walnut-lane-chest/
    and all my craigslist searching has made me thinks that Nevada is not concerned with anything mid century.
    Anyways even having a go at any local thrift stores would be great.
    If youre free on mondays or tuesdays I would def be down to go out thrifting with ya. :]

  13. Toni September 22, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    I happen to be free both of those days. I am heading to the Antique Mall at 1pm and after that I’m going to stop at some of the Arden area Goodwills (before I work at 3). Either of you care to join? You can just text me: 916-247-5715

  14. Serene September 22, 2010 at 3:05 am #

    damn you non-monday through friday 9-5’ers! Swooping up the deals with the retirees!

  15. joemountain September 22, 2010 at 7:52 am #

    Bah. You get to go yard sale-in. Bah.

    Sorry I missed you Toni, I got home today about two-ish and had to get ready for a wall unit me and duders bought from Katie. Thanks though for your offer, if you’re free next week maybe?

  16. Toni September 22, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    I am available both days before three. Just let me know when and where!

Leave a Reply

