Around Town: Deseret Industries

21 Sep

I recently went to Deseret out on Auburn and did some diggin’ around. I had never gone before and my boyfriend actually had gone the day before and was sending me picture messages of some of the furniture. So, of course, I had to see for myself.

If you haven’t been – you should definitely go. The place is huge. We were there on a Saturday and the place was bumpin’ – so maybe early in the week when there aren’t so many people out and about would be a better time. A huge glass/gadgets/dishware section which I always get sucked into and have to look for the perfect “change bowl.” I’ll never have too many decorative glass crap bowls.

They have so much stuff they expanded it into a weird outdoor area. I spent a good five minutes looking through baskets to try and find a huge sewing/yarn basket. To no avail. So sad. And – the kid in the photo was putting a toy drill into his mouth. Concern.

Uhm. They.. had some records. Actually, a lot of them..

I’m guessing this is a place that has a lot of good pieces come through and should be checked regularly! This was I believe $50 with matching mirror.

This little thing was pretty cute with matching mirror also for around $50. I love vanities with knee space gahh!

Nice table, I think it was about $15. It had a removable middle section to make it teeny! Beige/dark brown veneer top.

Here’s Alan looking incredibly excited by this projector screen. It was $5 and they had three of them! We bought one and.. have no idea what to do with it. We have that problem.

OH THERE IT IS! I’VE BEEN LOOKIN’ FOR YA, GIRL!

We walked out of there with a few glass containers for the kitchen/bathroom, the projector screen, and a $5.00 pair of never-worn old lady shoes for me. I scoured but didn’t find too much amazing stuff, but I definitely want to go back again and see what else ends up there.

and now the projector screen sits in our “office” (aka crap collection room) and shall remain. It kind of makes it smell like old books and lipstick in here. Peculiar..

4 Responses to “Around Town: Deseret Industries”

  1. joemountain September 21, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    That table is great!!! I want to go to there!

  2. Serene September 21, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    yeah dogg, it was pretty light wood so I was a bit afraid of the quality of it – and veneer is a personal turn off for me. But a good thing to have in a small kitchen table, easy to clean! I hope it’s still there. It might be!

  3. Jeremy September 22, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    I didn’t see any of this good stuff when I went on Monday…and I didn’t even *know* there was an outdoor part. Guess I’ll have to go back…

  4. Serene September 23, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    It seems like the kind of place you reeeally got dig if you want to find some good stuff. Again, I was there for a long time sifting through.. and only came away with a few things that were kind of “meh.” As for furniture though, if you’re looking for some dressers and stuff this place has tons of that.
    Also giant $30 gold framed paintings of nature scenes. There are like 10 of those.

Leave a Reply

