Around Town: Goodwill outlet

21 Sep

Many thanks go out to Toni for referring me to the goodwill outlet! I checked it out today and was enthralled. There was some elbow pushing going on that for being there for the first time I just had to sit back and observe. But I think I have it figured it out. So’s next time I am completely prepared to get my dig on and be brutal.
Here’s some stuff they have their now that I thought was pretty cute:




I am a big fan of transforming things. This little guy (I feel) has a lot of potential. Why not get some rad looking wallpaper for the top? Or maybe paint it a color that you think is rad? The size was pretty decent for those of us with limited counter space (er space in general).

Come on 13 dollars? If you are unsatisfied with the fabric in this bean (for thirteen bucks) you could get your reupholster on and make something wonderful out of it.


Ok. So the base on this floor lamp isnt hm…all that wonderful and this is pretty much a repro but I am thinking about this lamp in the thriftier mentality kinda like ‘I am not paying more than a hundred bucks’. Even as a particular furniture enthusiast I have to admire that (because I dunno I feel there is a whole lotta design thinking going on when you have that under a hundred dollar limit). When I was looking for a floor lamp it was probably the hardest thing to actually purchase. I was on craigslists,etsy everyday and started to even try Ebay out. I almost got close to buying one from ebay when someone swept underneath me at the very last second (touche avid ebay buyer). I eventually found a decent little floor lamp at thrift town for five bucks.

It doesnt have that much swag, but I needed light in the house and it’s pretty durn decent for however long I decide to keep it in my living room. Anyways moral is that sometimes it’s ok to just settle, sometimes it works out.

Reader’s digest use to come out with some really rad looking book covers. I am collecting some for future collage work.

9 Responses to “Around Town: Goodwill outlet”

  1. Serene September 21, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    where this place at? also how much was that wonky lamp? it’s too bad about the base!! and.. brass :\

  2. joemountain September 21, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    The lamp didnt have a price. Bah. I actually tried my darndest today to photograph the tags better. Goodwill outlet is past 47th ave on franklin
    6648 Franklin Blvd
    Sacramento, CA 95823

  3. Toni September 21, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    Serene – http://www.yelp.com/biz/goodwill-industry-sacramento

    Joe – Looks like you found some neat stuff. Next time you go remember to bring gloves. I’ve found some extremely questionable things at the ol’ Goodwill Outlet. Also, bring friends! I’ve found that it is a great way to get more of the bins covered.

  4. joemountain September 21, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    ps. If you can be aggressive enough to find a pound worth of stuff its 69 cents.

  5. joemountain September 21, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    Yeah after I saw the sign about there may be glass in our bins I was pretty weary. Gloves and friends is def a good idea.

  6. Serene September 21, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    That’s near my work! Should have stopped in to see me sit around at a desk looking at furniture on craigslist :|

  7. Serene September 21, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    also this reminds me about ..MAKING THAT POST ABOUT BED BUGS BLACGHHhhehghhhhhuh

  8. joemountain September 21, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    I am going again today. Jen and chris want that coffee table. I will text you and see if you need any foodies. Bed bug post def needs to be made. DOH. I am teh slacker.

  9. Serene September 21, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    how will you text me? YOU DON’T HAVE A PHONE! :O

Leave a Reply

