Around Town: Antique Co. sidewalk chair hangin’ out

28 Sep

I saw them loading up the sidewalk this morning at the Antique Company on 21st & X and caught a glimpse of them setting this out. Eyes narrowed,  slowed down to scope it out, had to get a picture. Looks like a piece from the early 50’s, I can imagine Lucille Ball straight chillin’ on it. What caught my eye were the strange legs that looked like a swivel base. Stupidly, while standing right in front of the damn thing I didn’t check to see if it actually did rotate. There was no price tag, maybe that part of the sidewalk was the “make an offer” area. I could see this being reupholstered in a delicious and durable Knoll fabric and looking goddamn stunning. Bling blanggg.

2 Responses to “Around Town: Antique Co. sidewalk chair hangin’ out”

  1. Mike September 28, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    I am pretty sure that is a Kroehler chair. I have had a couple and they do swivel.

    • Serene September 28, 2010 at 11:25 am #

      fantastic! Looking under Kroehler I’ve definitely found the similar broad-back and over-stuffed style. I think you’re correct! Here is a yellow and orange one that was listed on eBay –
      http://www.worthpoint.com/worthopedia/vintage-kroehler-yellow-swivel-chair-orange
      I’d like to go back to the Antique Co. and see if there is any brand or markings on it. I can’t afford to buy/reupholster it, I’m mostly curious now.

Leave a Reply

