Craigslist-Distressed look/project?

30 Sep


I always toy around with the idea of fixing stuff. I think of a way to execute something, think, think some more, start talking to my husband about it, then think, and get tired. Truth is I would probably leave this poor guy in it’s state of distressed (shabby?) and just say I like it that way. (I actually do think this dresser is kind of attractive in it’s current state). If you’re into projects it is being sold for 55$ in Roseville.
Original post

4 Responses to “Craigslist-Distressed look/project?”

  1. Serene September 30, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    cover it with a table-runner. GOOD AS NEW! Still kinda pricey for such a fixer upper? What the dillio.. and I mean c’mon that don’t even look like original hardware. $5 I’d take it!

  2. joemountain October 1, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    ah haggling. It is the beauty of craigslist. If I needed er hm had space for a dresser I’d pitch that to the seller because I am interested as well why this project dresser is priced so high. Now that I am thinking of it, haggling stories are pretty great. I’d like to hear/ share some .

  3. Serene October 1, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    I never haggle. I don’t know why. I feel like it’s rude somehow. The arc lamp in our living room was priced at around $100 from Midtown Antiques on F St (or whatever that place is called with the cute fat bulldog laying around on the floor all the time), and Alan insisted I ask $70 for it. Then we got into this whole thing of “No that’s rude! You do it! I don’t want to!” and “It’s your money, I’m not going to ask!” and “I’ll pay $100 I don’t care!”
    Eventually I think Alan just asked the guy how much he’d let it go for. We walked away with it for like $80 or so, no thanks to me.

  4. Jonathan October 4, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    WRT haggling, one thing to keep in mind is that craigslisters often price their goods with the expectation that the final price will be haggled down a bit. So I don’t see anything wrong with haggling, either while buying or selling, so long as you do it respectfully.

Leave a Reply

