Craigslist:Green lover-El Dorado Hills

2 Oct


I may be a little biased when I say how cute and freaking great looking this couch looks- IT’S GREEN. So here’s a bit from the seller:

“This sofa is a year old and is in perfect condition. retro,vintage inspired. “

Check out the Original post for the seller’s number.

8 Responses to “Craigslist:Green lover-El Dorado Hills”

  1. Toni October 2, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    She has had this up for months under “Macy’s sofa” and last night I sent her an e-mail saying to put “Mid Century Inspired Sofa” to get it sold. I’m glad she did it. Hopefully it’ll sell quickly.

  2. Serene October 2, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    Yeah it is a nice lookin’ couch! Definitely a classic style.

  3. Jeremy October 2, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    I saw this couch a few weeks ago, too. Sadly it gets horrible reviews on Macy’s web site.

  4. Toni October 2, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Jeremy – I have the love seat version of the couch and it is fabulous! :)

  5. Serene October 2, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    What do the reviews say??

  6. Jeremy October 3, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    Toni – glad the couch is as good as it looks – I really do love the design of it.

    Now that I revisit the reviews, it seems that that collection *does* have a good rating overall (average of 4.5 out of 5 stars over 61 reviews) but somehow it was the negative ones that stuck with me: things like puckering, uneven seams, etc. I may have to go to an actual Macy’s and check it out in person and see how it looks in a color other than ‘pear’.

    She’s definitely not offering much of a discount though – $500 for a couch that is on sale for $699. I do remember thinking that for a couple hundred bucks more it would be worth it to just buy it new in the first place. Though maybe she started high to allow for haggle room.

  7. joemountain October 3, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    ^^ Good point Jeremy! If I was selling something on craigslist I would do that. Especially if I paid I decent chunk for it.

    Also I think reading the reviews is pretty rad. My husband does that with everything we own that is new-the rug from UO, Shower curtain. I thought it was pretty silly at first (how bad can someone mess up a rug?). But almost all the reviews were pretty accurate and it helped us get an idea of what we were going to be working with. I wasnt a believer in reviews at first but now me thinks they are a wonderful tool to use when purchasing a product. Bonus smart buying is going to check out the couch first hand yourself.

  8. Jonathan October 4, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    The sofa is well made (I would know), but the biggest problem, as you can see from the picture, is the cushions wear in such a way that that the seam lines look uneven. Perhaps replacing the cushions with something firmer would fix this, but that’s not a cheap proposition.

Leave a Reply

