Git’r’done: Let’s Cut a Rug

7 Oct

We are happy to introduce a new section to the blog – GIT’R’DONE! This is a section for crafty –  or that whole tired phrase “D.I.Y.” – projects to enhance your home. We have loads of ideas and tricks to share with you all. Now, these are NOT mid-century specific. They are merely for us dwellers that love our spaces, and want to add a personal touch. All of our homes have so many different styles of art being displayed, and our own details – and that is where the style of the homeowner (or renter, as my case may be) really comes out. There is no reason to limit yourself to starburst and Shag art just because you love furniture of the era. It’s your space, own it.

For the first installment, here is a simple project that can add a unique flourish to your livin’ hole. I had purchased a cheap $50.00 white shaggy high-pile rug from Ikea (this one here), but was a little bored by the shape. Ever since I picked it up I wanted to customize it somehow. I took a very familiar shape as my inspiration – the unassuming and centuries old – paisley pattern.

To begin, I used a measuring tape to find the center of the edges, and creating a circle that touches each edge equally. Make sure if you’re doing this, that your rug will not fray at the edges as soon as you take a scissors to it.

Second, cut ’em out! Sharp sharp sharp scissors are a must. I underestimated the thickness of the rug, and ended up using a serrated knife to get through it all. I actually liked the serrated knife because it did not cut any of the carpet fibers, it just cut the underside. The scissor grabbed and cut everything in its path, and left a bit of my rug with a new short haircut, which looks a little weird.

With the cut scraps from the first side of the rug, I use it as a stencil for the opposite side. I wanted to get the paisley shape, so I used the inside cut curve to trace.

As paisley as I wanted to get and not lose too much rug material.

And ta-da, snappy and unique rug. Alright, I will be completely totally honest with you guys here, I would have preferred a larger rug to work with and fine-tune the final shape. It will take some getting used to, but I’m glad to have tried it, otherwise I never would have known and it would always have irked the crap outta me. If I tire of it, I can drop another $50.00 and try it again, or leave well enough alone.

3 Responses to “Git’r’done: Let’s Cut a Rug”

  1. toniiii October 7, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    Ooooh, I like!

  2. joemountain October 7, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    This is great! The shape def compliments the room. Good job there duders.

  3. Serene October 7, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    Yeah, y’all like my super messy living room too? :D

Leave a Reply

