On the internets: Dwell discusses the faux pas of painting the classics

10 Oct

An interesting little read. It’s a topic that comes up often when you love craigslisting for classics – “why in god’s name did you paint it?” Read on at Dwell what this writer has to say about it. Commenters bring up some interesting points as well! Dwell – Hands Off the Icons

3 Responses to “On the internets: Dwell discusses the faux pas of painting the classics”

  1. joemountain October 10, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    Def a good read! I really disagree with designers “coming up” with designs that already exist. And then on top of that charging a crap ton of money for it. That’s just weird. Weird weird weird. But I am not sure how I feel about people taking let’s say an eames lounge (replica!!) that is in terrible shape and reupholstering it into something else. Even getting away from the leather. I think I am leaning towards that being awesome. Because I think if we are honest not everyone can afford to pay someone to do the reupholstering for them nor can everyone work with vinyl/leather-or even afford it for that matter. I think it’s a nice way to reuse something that is dear to our heart and dare I say it possibly thrown to the dump(E GAH!) Lots of words sorry serene.

  2. joemountain October 10, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    eek. I meant to say save an eames lounge from being dumped.

  3. Serene October 10, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    One of the best DIY reupholstery projects I’ve seen online was done by the blogger Red Jet Whistle – I’m sure you saw the link I sent to Ben:
    http://redjetwhistle.blogspot.com/2008/10/eames-lounge-upholstery-project-done.html

    p.s. if you ever want to edit your comments – there is an “edit” link in your comment where you can edit ;D

Leave a Reply

