Inspiration: Cozy Cabin Kitchen

24 Oct

Yesterday I visited with my boyfriend’s family at their shared cabin near Placerville. Wood paneling, a dead bat under the midcentury pink sofa, and a toasty fire to warm my arse. Now that’s my kind of cabin. The kitchen though was the zenith, the apex, the pinnacle. Original GE fridge and pristine double-oven stove with broiler and warming drawers. They are kept in amazing condition time-capsuled in this cabin.

Now that it’s officially rainy season, it’s time for me and mine to retreat inside and get in some serious cozy kitchen time. Soup and bread making, putting on the poundage whilst listening to some “phat beats.” We have updated modern appliances that came with our apartment, but I remember fondly the vintage stove from the old Victorian where I lived San Francisco. That thing worked double-time as a source of pizza and household heat. They’re amazing workhorses and look great  if you can afford to de-retrofit your kitchen.

One of the most popular brands available for old stoves are Wedgewood stoves. This brand was brought to my attention by our friend Jenn who is hoping to replace the broken stove in her house with one of these bad boys. I’ve seen them range in price from $150 – $700, most of which seem to be in good working condition but may be missing knobs or handles. Or, like the old stove I used to live with, had loose doors that would just FLOP open. This one is going for $500. (Original Post)

This General Electric fridge is working and going for $250.00. I feel like if you keep an eye out for working vintage fridges you can find some amazing deals. And even more amazing colors. (Original Post)

This hoosier has been listed for a month or more. I keep eye-ballin’ it – it’s just so wonky but interesting. It includes the drawers that aren’t featured in the photo. It is HUGE and looks perhaps 1940’s era? I tried researching Mobilux, but didn’t find any information. The seller thinks it may be French. This behemoth is selling for $150.00. It is not the sleekest of pieces to go in your slick atomic ranch, but definitely unique. (Original Post)

3 Responses to “Inspiration: Cozy Cabin Kitchen”

  1. jwoo October 24, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    I think the MOBILUX cabinet may be from a mobile home.
    The straps around the cabinet knobs seem to provide the function of holding the doors shut — presumably when traversing a bumpy section of road.
    Also, the name MOBILUX alludes to being mobile, no?
    Very cool unit.

  2. Dale December 14, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    Hello…
    This is a very interesting site. I have lived through many of these items. I am writing in regards to the Hoosier type Mobilux cabinet. I just purchased it and do not have any real idea what I have. As one person noted, there is not a lot on the internet about the company or piece. It is a very interesting and well built piece. The information on that little label says “Les Cuisines, MOBILUX, Bordeaux. The little glass measuring cups inside also say something to the effect of made in France. That round thing in the middle appears to have maybe a slatted tilt out bin for potatoes on one side and maybe a flour bin on the other side? I cannot get it to rotate all the way around at this time…and I don’t want to force it. Does anyone have any ideas where I might begin to research what I have? Any and all replies would be appreciated. I would be happy to send additional photos if that would be helpful…

    Thanks,
    Dale
    Stockton, CA

    • brian causier brian.causier@gmail.com June 28, 2011 at 5:59 am #

      We have just purchased the same sideboard in France. We sent a lengthy description to you but we are not sure if you have received it.

Leave a Reply

