Around Town: Thrifting – Auburn boulevard

10 Nov

This post is a lil late. My apologies for that. The flu has struck me down and taken me victim! Words feel jumbled and there was little to no motivation to get out of my bed. Er hm. Toni and I decided on Monday that instead of going to vacaville we were going to hit up the Auburn strip. I suggest for any of you dear readers to do the same. There’s a good load of thrift stores on that strip and tons of cute 50’s buildings to look at! Here’s some photos looted from Flikr

Atomic Rat

Happy shooter


Happy shooter
First stop was Deseret Industries Thrift Store

Every year I say ‘I can’t believe christmas is already around the corner.’ I remember when I was a kid it couldn’t come soon enough. Now I think ‘Oh crap. I have to buy everyone presents.’

I barely missed being born on St. Patricks day. My Grandma use to tell me I was wrongly named growing up.
A: “We shoulda named you Patricia hita.”
B: “How come?”
A: ” You were born near St. Patrick’s day. It would have been so cute. We could call you Patty.”
I still shudder a lil when I think of that. Not that there is anything wrong with such a name. Just personally for me I am always reminded of my father’s ex-girlfriend. She was a Patty. I swore the first time I met her that she would be my arch enemy and I would make her fall (I was 5). I did what I thought was unnecessary cruel things to Patty:
C: Rosie can you hand me the butter.
B: No.
C: Rosie do you want to play with me and your sister?
B: No.
It was a devastating blow at 5 to find out that my Grandmother thought I would be much better off being named Patty rather than what I had deemed-after many I am better than Patty articulations-the sophisticated, classy, selfless, kind, highly intelligent Rose. Without even trying (possibly even knowing of our feud) Patty had won. She was meek and she was patient. She also was not born on a national hang over day. Patty was, is a winner.


These are more sit back and eat 70’s couches. I like them.


I love soft applications of paint.

This ruler gets longer!

Thatsa rooster. It is the owl of 1950.


Ever since I’ve come up this idea of using old book covers for a cork-board project I haven’t been able to buy any. The thought of taking some of these precious beans apart breaks my heart:

Look at that sweet illustration it had inside! I couldn’t bring myself to do it.


Ha. I always spell that word wrong.

Thrift Mart




I was pretty close to getting this guy. A lot of our friends are into the BBQ. I am into it too. I thought about getting it for someone for christmas but then I wondered how a person would feel about a gift from the thrift store.

When I look back at some of these things from our thrifting adventures I always think…why didn’t you get that? You coulda framed that. I always try to keep an open mind at what can be hung up as art: a board game, ink bottles, old wall paper. The possibilities are only limited to meself and the focus I can maintain while shopping.


Next up was Midway. The first time I tried to go to here I ended up at the old location. I am so stoked that I finally got to go. All of the eye candy nearly made me (and I think Toni as well) have a seizure. The set ups here are a really great tool for inspiration.




Who ever sets this stuff up…MY HAT IS TIPPED TO YOU! The color combinations displayed here knocked my socks off to Zeeland.





Mid-century tooted bliss right hur ya’ll. L shaped steel tanker desk!

Look at that!


I was still stuck in the front when Toni pulled me to one of the best set ups seen in like forever. This thing was like an actual house.

Living room

One day I am gonna have a house and this thing is going to be in there.



Kitchen






I bought those view master cartridges. I dont see them at the store anymore. Did some brain think these things were useless and discontinue them? Why! WHY would anyone think such a thing. They are amazing.






I was a little confused as to why the table was so low. Toni had to explain that set ups purpose to me. I like having her around thrifting.

Goodwill
These were cute colorful serving trays.





My friend asked me to be on the look out for any paintings of landscapes. I thought this one woulda been perfecto because her boyfriend’s mom use to take him bird watching all the time. I didn’t get it because there was some chipping.

Look at those colors and the way they were implemented. IDURS!



I think grey and yellow is my new favorite color combination. They look classy to me.
Heres some of the stuff I got that I am pretty stoked on:

Baby blue fan from thrift mart.


Tea, Flour etc canister set from Midway. (IT CAN HANG ON THE WALL!)

8 Responses to “Around Town: Thrifting – Auburn boulevard”

  1. Serene November 10, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    Daaang how much were those canisters? They’re fantaastic!

  2. Serene November 10, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    Also I’m surprised you were able to buy anything from Midway – it was like getting punched in the face by the prettiest fist ever. So expensive, but so fantastic to look at!

  3. toniiii November 10, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    Serene- definitely. A friend of mine made a good point … they should charge admission and call it a museum. They’d probably make more money. :)

    But holy cow, I seriously died and went to Googie heaven on Monday.

  4. joe mountain November 11, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    I think I paid a fair price for that set: 30 dollars. Some of the stuff was like any antique mall: a lil bit pricey. There def was some things there though that I was like alright alright this thing deserves to be this price. It’s gorgeous and I’ve never even seen it anywhere. If you go into the booths you gotta look around but there was def some dealers selling things for normal antique store prices. Which is great because it really is like the 1950’s haven for cute stuffs-meaning a person probably will not leave there empty handed.

  5. Mike November 15, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    Does anyone know what magazine that is on the amoeba table, in the photo of the row of bowling alley chairs? Is it just called Vintage? Is it like Atomic Ranch?

  6. toniiii November 15, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    Mike – I don’t know how I missed the magazines while I was sitting in those chairs. I don’t know what they’re about, but they look awesome.

  7. joe mountain November 16, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    I think it says vintage?

    • Shane O'Brien December 16, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      Its Atomic Ranch. It is a magizine for those who love mid century and modern design.

Leave a Reply

