Saturday morning cartoons: Snowman’s Dilemma (1960)

18 Dec






In the spirit of christmas and all things adorable I humbly bring forth to you this Saturday morning the Snowmans Dilemma. The film was originally released theatrically in Bulgaria.
It was directed By Radka Bachvarova, and
animated By Lilyana Lyutzkanova, Todor Nedev, Proyko Proykov, Ivan Tonev. Unfortunately I couldn’t come across much information about any of the contributors to this creation except that when you type into google Proyko Proykov a link to Best of Bulgarian pictures comes up on Amazon.
This cartoon has some pretty rad and feminine colors going on, and a sweet thoughtful ending. I hope it settles with your morning coffee nicely.

3 Responses to “Saturday morning cartoons: Snowman’s Dilemma (1960)”

  1. C. Sobieniak January 7, 2011 at 2:44 am #

    I was the one who uploaded the cartoon over at YouTube, from a faded print I had gotten a while ago, though I had taken it down after I saw a friend of mine uploaded his he got from a DVD set of cartoons that included it on. It’s got better color, though it looks like they used “DNVR” on it, so the outlines keep disappearing whenever they move pretty fast.

    Someone else already cling onto my copy (for which I don’t own the rights to anyway) and placed it up on his page too in case you like to see that version again (I cropped it for widescreen use thinking it looked OK this way).

    This was one of those cartoons I saw when I was 4 or 5 through a program Nickelodeon used to show called “Pinwheel” in the early 80’s, and remember feeling sad for the snowman at the end despite apparently given a second chance at life as we see here.

  2. C. Sobieniak January 7, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    Incidentally, this was produced at Bulgaria’s animation studio in Sofia that was at the time state-controlled. I don’t know if it exists anymore or not, but they put out some pretty unique pieces of animation over the years, especially those of animator Donyo Donev.

  3. joe mountain January 10, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    Dude thanks so much for sharing those links and what you know about that cartoon (totally made my day!). It really is such a bootiful thang.

Leave a Reply

