Git’R’Done: Yosha’s New Bed

23 Dec

My friend Jenn W. sent me this photo via Conversation Pieces. I guess you can buy these cat beds on Etsy, but I’m not tryin’ to spend $60 (+$30 shipping). As you’d guess, my house it very mid-century inspired, so it is only appropriate that our only housemate has some darn cool things, too.

Here’s what you’ll need (besides a flat head screw driver):

Vintage luggages are found at every thrift store and they are very reasonably priced. I believe this one was $5. I chose the largest one available because my cat Yosha is a big boy.

Some tapered legs. I found mine at a thrift store for .40 cents each, but you can buy yours online for $2.90 a piece at Home Depot.

Here is a list of where to find gorilla glue nearest you.

A clean towel or paper towel to clean surfaces.

First I tried really hard to take the suit case apart without damaging either side. I used a flat head screwdriver to pry apart whatever nails there were.

After I got them apart I wiped down the tapered legs and the Samsonite luggage with a wet rag. I put a thin layer of the gorilla glue on each of the tapered legs and let the glue sit for two minutes (after it starts to bubble). Then place the legs in each corner of the luggage and let them dry for five to ten hours.

Make sure the legs are very secure before you allow your animal companion try to sleep on it.

Once it is done you can put your kitty’s (or small dog) favorite blanket inside their new bed. I think we’re going to buy a nice plush blanket for our cat (they can be found at Target for under 20 bucks).

5 Responses to “Git’R’Done: Yosha’s New Bed”

  1. Conversation Pieces December 23, 2010 at 4:19 am #

    Hey there. Glad you liked it… I actually ended up making one myself with some spare fabric: http://conversationpieces.co.uk/2009/11/10/howdy-its-a-suitcase-cat-bed-2/

    Have a good Christmas x

  2. Jenn December 23, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    YAY! I hope yosha loves his new bed! It looks great, Toni! I don’t know if you know yet, but I got a kitty!!! Maybe I’ll have to try making this sometime too ;)

  3. joe mountain December 23, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    :D

  4. Ski December 23, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    That turned out wonderfully!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yosha’s dining table. « mimomito | Midcentury Modern Mid Town - February 3, 2011

    […] you may already know, my cat has wonderful taste in MCM furniture. You’ve already seen his bed, so I’m now going to introduce you to his new dining area table. I found this tiny wooden […]

Leave a Reply

