Around Town- Back in Stockton

26 Jan

We had a trio thrift day yesterday. Serene has never been to Stockton to thrift so we decided to go there.


Drive to Stockton in Space Van.


Fog is so ridiculously thick you cant even see where you or going. Goodwill first.


I call this guy the little pea body.


About this [–] close to buying this guy because the solid color blocks were pretty awesome. Also how often would you see a modern twist to textured pioneer-isk drawings? Or Pioneer anything.



Delta thrift store





Not vintage of any sort but still a pretty cute kitchen container.




HAAAAAAAI.


This owl thing was crazy. You moved back and forth and the eyes got smaller then bigger. I wonder if that makes sense? *Shakes fist at sky. I NEED TO KNOW HOW TO MAKE GIFS.
Anywho it was interesting, entertaining and slightly creepy. If I bought it I would have spent way too much time in front of that thing shuffling.


PIG TEA!



I really dig the colors of this thing.


I kinda regret not getting this thing for an end table or for fabric storage. The top and front opened up.

I just wanted to buy the box for this doll so I could frame it.

I prolly woulda had to come home with this thing though….and that’s horrifying.

Outlet thrift store

Heavy beige and yellow fabric.

Sweet 1971 (the date was on this thing) thermos for storing paperclips and tacks. I really wanna know who was in charge of designing these things back then. They always look really awesome.

For decoration?

Superior thrift store is really superior. If you go to Stockton check this one out first.


This thing was good. Just needed alil love and affection and with the discount it was like 6 bucks.






Maybe a throw?



This thing had a really neat texture and a cute lil’ lady bug.


Head home.
I want a globe with just a map of California, for ya know navigation. It doesnt make any sense but I think it would look nice.
Here’s some stuff I got that I am real stoked on.

Driftwood grapes.

Paul McCobb dishes! The colors match a couple dishes I got when I went to the Thrift store in South Sac.

Not knowing Mr. McCobb did dishes…I am pretty pleased. Here is some pictures of some of his dishes looted from Flickriver.







Click the Link provided to check out more of his designs/photos! New NEW years resolution is to dig through all the dishes at the Thrift store to find more of these bad boys.

10 Responses to “Around Town- Back in Stockton”

  1. Angie January 26, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Love them Paul McCobb patterns! Also, cute looking Jonathan Alder style vase.

  2. christopher squid January 26, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    ha, i went to superior and outlet that day, too. i was hoping i’d run into y’all. that owl picture was crazy, i was staring at it for a while. i almost bought that teal office chair, too, but it didn’t swivel, so i decided against it…

  3. Rebecca Gates January 26, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    I am soooo jealous that you found the promotional balloon pattern pyrex set. So cute and so rare. I would have been in pyrex heaven if I found them first.

    • Serene January 26, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

      which ones are those, Rebecca?

    • toniiii January 27, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      If it makes you feel any better, that is just a photo that Rose found to show Paul McCob dishes. :) I do know one person who has found that pattern of pryrex while thrifting though. Jealous!

  4. claire January 26, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    the flower frog/vases are awesome!

  5. Jonathan January 26, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Wow, all of those dishes are awesome!

  6. joe mountain January 26, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Angie- I was stoked on those dishes! I like them both loads but the little ones I think are my favorite.

    Chris- I like the color of that chair alot, and I like the frame of that wooden one but then thought dude…ben is going to be soo mad at me if I bring this home. Ha.

    Rebecca- I am interested too! Which ones?

  7. joe mountain January 26, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    PS. How dope is Paul’s signature? I love his P and B’s!

  8. alicia January 26, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    That doll…is it what I think it is?…Ms. Spears?

    Unbelievable.

Leave a Reply

