Modernism in Aix-en-Provence

6 Mar

So, I just got back from my holiday in France and I’m excited to show you the few modern stores that I saw while I was there.

First off, here is a photo of me with my beautiful translator and best friend, Candice. It was so helpful to be with someone who knew  the city well and could translate everything for me.

The first  one that we stopped into was more of a lighting store with some modern furniture.

The next store was one that I had spotted on the first night there and literally fell over when I saw all the lovely furniture that they had displayed in the window. I was finally able to go into the store before the end of my stay and to my disappointment, they said I couldn’t take photos of anything on the inside.

Fortunately, I was preparedfor that. Serene was nice enough to make business cards for me before I left and I just had Candice tell the guy that I was going to write about him and his store on my blog.  Not only was he thrilled about it (after awkwardly verifying my blog in front of me) but he also gave me contact information of an MCM enthusiast in Marseille that is well-known in the French design community. He said it would be a good contact to have if I ever decided to get into design.

Here is La Maison Montigny:

There was one more store that we passed that had some modern furniture but I was too tired to actually go in. Here is where the French can buy their George Nelson ball clocks:

One more thing. While I was at the train station in Marseille, I passed by these lovely Eames knock offs at a fashionable McDonald’s. I was very confused.

Here is also a cute video that Candice showed me while I was there. It reminded me of Joe Mountain.

2 Responses to “Modernism in Aix-en-Provence”

  1. claire March 8, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    looks amazing! Love your dress, Toni!

  2. toniiii March 8, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Thanks Claire. It’s from Lulu Forever. ;)

Leave a Reply

