Homes, Sweet Homes: Ilsa Hess

1 May


Who was nice enough to show us around:
Ilsa Hess

She is the creator of Nacheez  – vegan nacho cheese. Have any of you tried it yet? It is freakin’ delicious. Go buy it today at Never Felt Better (located at K and 23rd in Midtown Sacramento)!

Anyway, I was super excited to find out that a fellow vegan was also an MCM enthusiast. She is awesome and so is her home. Ch-ch-check it out!

What they told us about their home: It is a 2 bedroom/ 1 bath house and 750 sq ft. The home was built in 1935 and the original owner lived there until Ilsa moved in 2010.

Where is the home located: Elm Hurst, Sacramento, California

When was the home built and when they moved in: Built in 1935, moved in 2010.

Why they chose this home: “I wanted to move to East Sac to save some money. I was living in a nice flat next to Hot Italian in Downtown and wanted some place cheaper and more quiet. I never believed I could find my own home for less than an apartment! I’m so happy with the small size of my home. It’s more than enough for lil’ old me ”

Photos by Serene.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What attracted you to MCM design?

It’s hard to explain. When I was a kid, I found the style sort of ‘spooky’ compared to the trendy modern furniture of the 80s. Now, I love the organic look and natural products used in the designs.

Favorite designers and biggest influences for your style?

Eames, of course.

How do you feel about reproductions?

The only benefit is the cost.

Furniture wise, what do you think is something you should invest in?

A nice well-made couch. It will last a lifetime.

Where are your favorite places to shop for home décor?

Thrift stores and garage sales. I love the thrill when I find something wonderful! I also search on Craigslist.

What are some of your best finds? From where?

Freecycle. I got my couch from there. It’s a bit rough, but the price was right.

Greatest achievement in your home? Biggest challenge?

Finding a wall to put my 7 foot couch against. The biggest challenge was fitting the rest of my furniture in my tiny home.

Future goals/ projects?

I have the canvases to paint three paintings of bright orange poppies to hang above my couch.

Do you have any home inspiration recommendations for our readers?

I get my inspiration from old movies and home magazines.

Advice and last words?

Have fun! There are so many used pieces waiting to be in your home. Do not let the thought that MCM is too expensive, because it isn’t if you don’t want it to be. Have fun exploring antique malls, thrift stores and garage sales. There are tons of deals just waiting for you!

Many thanks to Ms. Hess for showing us around her darling home and giving us so many tasty vegan treats.  We loved it so much I was almost late for work.

If you’re interested in having your home featured on the blog, shoot me an e-mail at: midmodlove@yahoo.com


2 Responses to “Homes, Sweet Homes: Ilsa Hess”

  1. Honor May 1, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Whoa, so much cuteness!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. mimomito | Midcentury Modern Mid Town - June 12, 2011

    […] Remember Ilsa? She let us feature her awesome home. […]

Leave a Reply

