Space Age Bubble Top Record Player

3 May


Ohhh my lordy lordy goodness.
So, sadly, the Chromcraft space chairs have been sold. Quite sad. But the Electrahome stereo blobbular console is for sale for $450.00 in Elk Grove.
What could make your music sound better than playing it.. from the future!?

4 Responses to “Space Age Bubble Top Record Player”

  1. toniiii May 3, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    This looks like something Shane would sell. Is it his? :)

  2. thevintagegirl May 5, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Don’t be sad. I’m the one that bought the chairs and while trying to clean them up I discovered they had been in a flood. bah. The padding is still wet and there is mud and a ton of MOLD. Oh, and a centipede type critter actually crawled up out of somewhere in the chair! gross. I’m hoping they can be restored. Anyone know a really good furniture restorer? I don’t think anything but the aluminum bases can be reused. It’s turning out to be not quite the bargain after all…more like a nightmare….

    • Serene May 6, 2011 at 12:17 am #

      HOLY MOLDY!!
      Oh my gosh, I’m so sorry! That is just terrible. I hope you got a deal on them. Man, that is so upsetting and just gross.
      As for redoing the upholstery, yeah the shape and base are probably rot through if they are wood and not plastic. It will be incredibly, incredibly expensive to recreate the forms, but if the wood could be dried out and recovered it could be worth it.
      Some of the local upholsterers we’ve heard good things about have been Magnolia Upholstery, B&T, and Robles Upholstery in Woodland.

      Wish you the best of luck! Let us know how it goes.

      • thevintagegirl May 10, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

        Hi Serene,

        Here’s an update on the chairs. I consulted with two upholsterers. One estimate I received was $400.00 or more per chair to completely re-do (and he didn’t seem like he wanted to take the job). The other estimate was a bit less but, that was only assuming he could re-use the bent plywood frame.

        After breathing in WAY too much mold (and Lord knows WHAT else!) stripping one down to the plywood in the off-chance the wood could dry out and be re-used, it became clear they were not salvageable. The plywood had simply been wet for far too long.

        So, I’ve decided to cut my losses and move on. The chairs (minus the aluminum bases) are now in the trash. :( I paid $380.00 for the pair and I was not keen on spending an additional $600-800 to have them redone and run the risk of not being happy with the finished product.

        I was so thrilled at the prospect of finally getting these particular chairs that I neglected to examine them closely. So, lesson learned! From now on I WILL make sure to more thoroughly examine an upholstered piece of furniture. If I smell that horrid musty/moldy smell, I won’t buy it!

        Hope my mistake can help someone else!

        P.S.
        I did buy them from a guy named Shane. I don’t think he realized they had been in a flood. At least I hope he didn’t!

Leave a Reply

