Git’r’Done: Colorful Curtain Holdbacks!

29 Jul

We recently moved into a new apartment, and our latest living room comes with an expanse of fabulous windows. We have big heavy black-out curtains to keep us warm in winter and cool in these damn hot summer days. But during the day I wanted to let the light in and get some cheap drapery holdbacks.

If you’ve ever wandered through the Ikea or Target curtain section, you’ve seen the hideous curtain holdbacks they have for sale; big and cartoony, swooping metal eye-sores. I was looking for something that resembled the Eames “Hang it all” coat rack.

Basically something clean and simple with a ball-shape on the end of it. After searching and comparing prices online, I found what I was looking for at Anna’s Linens online store.


A clean simple tiny piece of hardware that comes relatively cheap, ($9.99 for two on the website, but I found the item through Amazon for $8.00 at the time.) and has that ball I wanted on the end! I ordered three sets (for the three windows in the living room) and they arrived two days later. I couldn’t unscrew the ball pieces, so I had my boyfriend Alan just spray paint them all one color. This is how they turned out!

If I wasn’t so frantic to get them up on the windows, I would have liked to take the time to spray paint them different colors with the white base for that super Eames colorful pop o’ freshness. I am very happy with how they turned out, though. They are a neat little detail in the room, and make opening the windows a breeze. (PUNS!!) Maybe YOU can try this at home and send us some pictures, huh?

3 Responses to “Git’r’Done: Colorful Curtain Holdbacks!”

  1. Christina July 29, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    Thanks for the tip! Me and the Roomie have been having a curtain battle. It’s the last detail to the living room and we’re having a helluva time finding the right ones. I’ve seriously brought home 10 different color sets of curtains. I like the looks of what you did here though…

  2. Madeline July 29, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    I noticed these the other night! When we tried to find blackout curtains they had nothing light colored! All colors for children’s rooms. We ended up with just basic curtains.

    • Serene July 31, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

      Target had a really limited supply, but that’s where we got our blackout curtains (and bought out all the beige). My mom also suggests checking around at different Ross stores — they sometimes have some quality ones for much cheaper.

Leave a Reply

