Alexander Calder: My fan mail is enormous. Everyone is under six.

29 Aug


I was talking to Eric about the circus awhile back and he showed me Alexander Calder’s circus performance. Blew the heck outta my mind. It motivated me to learn a lil bit more about dude.

Calder was born in 1898 in Lawntown Pennsylvania. Dude got an early start getting down with that creativity. Both of his parent’s were artists and he was encouraged at a real young age to create.
Before I keep going er ripping off other people’s research less look at some of his work. Just in case we are all not on the same page right now.

Btw. Now that I talk about ripping people off. Check out the Calder Foundation. This website is chalk full of information about Calder’s life/work and they can say all of it a helluva lot better than I can.

Calder began building these bootiful mobiles in 1931 after he visited the studio of Piet Mondrian in Paris, and saw his wall of colored paper squares.


WILL YOU LOOK AT THAT!? Calder, did not just come out the woodwork with this stuff folks. Dude had a pretty steady bootiful career pre-mobiles. One of the most boooootiful pieces Calder has made finds refuge at the NY Moma. It is the circus and it is an amazing thing.

Inspired by the time he spent illustrating the Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey Circus scenes, Calder created this bad boy. It’s wonderful, witty, intricate, and pulls you in. Watch it. You will not be bummed.

It’s a piece that pretty much grew up with Calder. That’s a pretty special thang.

Free Art! JFK Airport in NY.

General Services Administration in Chicago

Above is a picture of Calder’s farmhouse in Roxbury, Connecticut.

This is the only picture floating around the internet. Dat home is still in the fam bam and closed to the public.
Thass all I got folks. I feel as if I scrambled my brain (possibly yours?) enough with all this Calder noise. Have a fantabulous Monday!

3 Responses to “Alexander Calder: My fan mail is enormous. Everyone is under six.”

  1. Monique August 29, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Ahh this is driving me nuts. I wanted to say how i liked this post and include a link to these fantastic hand made Calder inspired mobile earrings that I saw being sold at the SF Renegade craft fair but now I cant find the name of the person who made/sold them! Ugh they were so beautiful and actually looked more like this http://www.etsy.com/listing/79087893/blue-mobile-kinetic-hanging-mobile-art?ref=sr_gallery_2&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_search_query=calder+mobile&ga_page=1&ga_facet= but tiny and expensive and earring size-d. Not like the other images you see when you google Calder Mobile Earring. Sigh.

  2. Rose September 12, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Dude I hate when that happens! I’ve been using pinterest so those internet things I find and think are wonderful do not get lost. http://pinterest.com/roseofrose/
    Before I joined pinterest I was using my email. Everything was scattered and horrible. I feel a lot more relaxed knowing my internet treasures are safely placed at one site. I tried to do a search for those earrings…no luck for me either :[

  3. LMer November 18, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    Hi, Im looking for a picture of Alexander Calder calls Two in the center. Somebody can give me an URL with this photo or send it by email. Pleaaase! thx

Leave a Reply

