Back in the Day: David

15 Sep

Our new section “Back in the Day” includes personal photos of our readers from the ’40s through the ’70s.

These wonderful photos were contributed by our good friend David from Atomic Fantasy Vintage. Aren’t they wonderful?


1953: My mom, age 7, on a little mid-century sofa with an very large left-hand arm rest. Was this to set a tray on?


1966: My dad, age 21, on a white vinyl sofa. Holding a model boat and wearing what looks like some kind of sailor’s hat.


1966: My mom, on the beach at Santa Cruz with heart-shaped sunglasses.


1966: My dad with a 3-D Batman comic book.


1967: My mom, front lawn of unidentified house.


1967: My dad, on a block in San Jose with mid-60s cars.


1967: My dad with a friend, custom painting his car. This is the driver’s side.


1967: My parents in their apartment. The white vinyl sofa is back, now accompanied by a charcoal sofa with floral print, end tables with sliding glass tops, and lamp with fiberglass shade.

1968: My mom on the right, a few weeks before I was born. Those balsa wood airplanes were everywhere.

1968: In front of the house I grew up in. Peace symbol design cut out of the window shade.

1969: On the floor at my grandmother’s house with dark orange-red sectional sofa. I know. You totally want those floral pillows.

1969: I nominate the chairs for Mimomito’s Do Not Want list. Country kitchen and mid-century modern was always an unholy mixture, wasn’t it?

1969: First birthday. Ceramic panther in the background. Yes, I am wearing a paper crown.

1969: We had a black and white Zenith TV on a rolling metal cart. We watched the Apollo moon landing on that.

1969: At Santa Cruz with Ohio Art sand pail. Those are collectible now.

1969: Apparently striped shirts were popular this year.

1970: Opening presents. I hope it’s not another striped shirt.

1971: In Bullwinkle pajamas, sitting on a 1950s toy box decorated with clowns and circus animals.

1971: Me next to a clown punching bag. What kid doesn’t want to punch a clown?

1972: Our excellent TV again. The final season of Bewitched was on this year.

1972: I really wish I still had this pedal car.

1972: I believe the white vehicle was called a Sidewinder. You could spin or go forward or back by turning the red handles.

1972: Our living room. Kitchen chair on the left, and some kind of sofa with tapered legs on the right.

1974: With Mego action figures – Spock, Batman, and unidentified figure in silver crash helmet. And the worst bedspread ever.

1976: Bicentennial year, everything had to be star spangled.

1977: Star Trek shirts with insignias.

David, thank you very much for sharing these amazing photos. They are so beautiful!

Also, if anyone else would like to share their family photos with Mimomito, send them over to: midmodlove@yahoo.com You can send one or 50.  :)

6 Responses to “Back in the Day: David”

  1. Gretchen September 15, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Awww, love these awesome pix!

  2. Serene September 15, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    These are incredible! Also, the resemblances are uncanny :)

  3. Teresa Hardy September 15, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    I would love to know who the “friend” is with your dad. My biological father described a car like this in which he said I was literally conceived. I was born the same year as David, so 1967 was the year that all went down – and that car looks like a baby-maker, doesn’t it? The guy in the picture with David’s dad actually looks a little like my biological father too – hard to tell it’s so small. Anyhow, maybe these two dads were friends? I would love it if such a “small world” thing happened because of your blog (which I read every day).

    • Rose September 16, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      That would be some cowinkadink!

  4. Rebecca September 15, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    I think I still have a lot of striped shirts in my closet.

    Do you want one David?

  5. Rose September 16, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    I love this feature! All of my favorite things, old stuff, family history, and photography. Thanks for sharing David.

Leave a Reply

