“Some people start families. We buy chairs.”-Sensitive Ben

3 Nov

Oh hi guys, hi. I don’t really do much sharing of stuff I purchase because most of my furniture buying is almost done. Well…sorta.
So um let me familiarize ya’ll with what I’m on the prowl for:
A couch that isn’t vinyl and dark, a hanging lamp that will light up my whole world, a throw, pillows, a rug, occasional chair for any occasion, a sconce, and prints.
Tis a small list. I’ve decided to share my last few purchases before I do my home tour with Toni, for my own knowledge and maybe some accountability. Furniture is like a soft addiction and I find myself needing someone to say ‘just stop it already’. BAH.
Anyhoot today I scored an item from the list of treasures.
Drum roll:
chaircolfaxed
There have been many a chair prior to this fiberglass booty. None made me happier than this dude.
chaircolfaxed2
I feel like I might have creeped out the seller of this chair….
Me: Oh hello.
Seller: Hi.
Me: Hi. Yes. Um. I am calling about your chair on the craigslist. I’d like to know if it is still available.
Everytime I ask someone that the ads I see everyday bounce around my head and hit me in the forehead “IF AD IS UP THE ITEM IS AVAILABLE WILL NOT RESPOND TO THAT QUESTION.” They might as well add idiot to the end of that sentence. I guess that would be bad for business.Poot.

Seller: Yes. Yes it is.
Me:I want to buy that. Where do you live.
PAUSE.
Seller: Uh. Well it’s kinda out in the middle of nowhere…you might get lost. How bout we meet in a public place.
Me: :S OK great!
colfaxend
My apologies go out to the seller if he reads this. I was really excited!
Anyways I’am happy with my purchase. It’s exactly what I feel I needed for teh guests, and maximum lounge reading.
This winter will be awesome.

9 Responses to ““Some people start families. We buy chairs.”-Sensitive Ben”

  1. Brandi November 4, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    Ooh, an Eames rocker. Lucky old you! Good find.

    • Brandi November 4, 2011 at 9:31 am #

      I love the title/Ben quote. I might have to use it. I have a lot of chairs. Once I was up to 5 couches too.

      Ps. The above reply was not me, unless I did it in my sleep.

      -the other Brandi

      • Rose November 4, 2011 at 10:45 am #

        I’ve gone through a lot of pieces too. I don’t necessarily think it is a bad thing. Sometimes things work and sometimes they dont. As long as I break even or a lil less than even I am happy.

        Oh and thank you Brandi…first Brandi. I am smitten. :D

      • Brandi W November 5, 2011 at 12:51 am #

        Oh dear, there’s more than one of us? (I could append a W to my name to avoid confusion…)

  2. toniiii November 6, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    “The Craigslist”. That’s so great! P.S. your chair is amazing. We’re all dying to know, did ya get a good deal?

  3. Rose November 7, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    I got a good deal considering what it is. Only thing I wish is that I would have asked for the original base with my purchase. BAH
    All in all I am absolutely happy with my purchase. :D

  4. Serene November 7, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    HOORAY! I love rocking CHERRRZ! I should make an entry about our latest rocking chair addition as well, come to think of it.. MIMOMITO: LOVERS OF MIDCENTURY ROCKING.

  5. alicia November 7, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Haha, your “baby”! Congrats!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I WANNA ROCK! « mimomito | Midcentury Modern Mid Town - November 19, 2011

    […] Dee Snider, “I WANNA ROCK”. And in the case of the Mimomito writers, it’s true. Last week Rose showed y’all her brand new beautiful addition to her family – er – …. So with the recent acquisition of a knock-off Tapiovaara rocker, here are our […]

Leave a Reply

