Mimomito Christmas give away

7 Dec

Get ready for lotsa photo’s but first…thee prize:
DSC_0100
Ten handmade Christmas cards by local craftsman Ben Della Rosa (my husband) from Interval press. We wanted to give something back to you guys this season for all your awesome support. We wanted to give to your giving!!!!! Hand them out as a gift!? Give them with a gift! Keep them all! I dunno!
To qualify:
1. Please “like” Interval Press’s facebook
2. Post a comment on our blog of one vintage item on your christmas wish list.
3. YOU’RE FINISHED.
We will select a winner at random next Tuesday 12-13-11. But wait. There’s more. Well more content. Not anymore prizes.

Here’s the once upon a time of the cards-
DSC_0142
In a land far far away…Not so far away. There was a studio. It is a silkscreen studio at Verge. We went there on a mission. To make the best snowflake Christmas cards in Sacramento.
DSC_0150
The knight, the hero, Ben, set out by first cutting the transparencies. Okay. I am done. Ben told me explaining his process through ancient storybookish ways is too out there. AHEM. Cutting out the design.
DSC_0167
CUTTING THEM OUT WITH lOL lAzErS!!!
….That was my last one.
DSC_0171
He tapes it all together and makes sure every piece matches up perfectly.
DSC_0185
Lays the transparencies down onto a screen coated in emulsion.
DSC_0193
Light!
DSC_0208
Waits around
DSC_0218
Burrrn.
DSC_0236
Blasts away the emulsion.
DSC_0246
Checks it out.
DSC_0248
Working hard.
DSC_0271
Checks it out some more
DSC_0265
Tapes it all up. He looks really tough with that xacto hanging out the side of his mouth.
DSC_0276
Mixes the paint. ISNT HE HANDSOME!
DSC_0279
Woosh.
DSC_0285
Yay!
DSC_0287
Dry my little pretties. Dry!
DSC_0139
Wala!
DSC_0124
Here’s another because I tried really hard to make my sumo doll look like he was reading a card. OH he’s so angry HAPPY. Seriously I tried like 15 times to make it look like he was reading that card and this is as close as I got to a success. BAH. Thanks so much to Ben for giving us some of his cards, and Kyle and John for being so cool. See ya guys!

11 Responses to “Mimomito Christmas give away”

  1. mary December 8, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    I haven’t any holiday cards to send out yet, so I could totally use these. Recently I’ve been obsessing over art deco dress clips. These are on my wish list: http://www.etsy.com/listing/87540240/vintage-art-deco-dress-clips-1930s

  2. Jenny Linquist December 8, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    These are great, Ben & Rose. I liked seeing your screen printing process…so much different than letterpress, but probably cooler. Obviously I want your cards, so I will tell you, I have been estate sale hunting for vintage drawers…my husband and I have been upcycling them into neat furniture creations. (They look sort of like these, but we actually use them. http://www.etsy.com/listing/85915670/reserved-for-alison-rustic-vintage )

  3. Julia B December 8, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    love the cards! for xmas I want a vintage jewelry box or necklace stand… or antique mannequin. Or the Eames’ old Pacific Palisades home, if it will fit in a box :)

  4. Brandi December 8, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Oh man, I haven’t been on top of things when it comes to holiday cards so this would be great! I’ve currently got this on my list: http://sfbay.craigslist.org/eby/fuo/2715936097.html which I think is still availible but I just dont want to put in the effort to actually GO get it. Ha. And an arc lamp, and an Eames rocker.

  5. Michael Linquist December 8, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    The cards look great… obviously. I’m really hoping to get some vintage woodworking tools this Christmas. Hopefully some planes, and maybe a saw or two. Like Jenny mentioned, we’re dreaming of becoming carpenters soon!

  6. Rebecca December 8, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I am loving the cards guys!!!

    So I am cheating a bit since I know Santa (aka. David) has already bought this for me. I have been wanting a Franciscan Starburst print spoon rest forever. But anything from their collection will do.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Franciscan-Star-Burst-Spoon-Rest-Ashtray-Tea-Bag-Ring-Holder-MINT-/300633007977?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item45ff1fa769

  7. Seniorita Gato December 8, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    I miss sacramento and all you wonderful people that are inside there.

  8. Erin S (@BowsandSparrows) December 8, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I already “like” Interval Press on the FB…yay! As for the vintage item on my holiday wish list, my little heart always goes pitter-patter for sparkly things…and this year a sparkly brooch is what I want!

  9. Veronica Krainik December 8, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    These are so cool!! I love art deco, very stylized. If I could choose a vintage item for Christmas, it would probably be a Louis Icart print “Gust of Wind” http://www.lockportstreetgallery.com/Ietching/GustofWind.htm
    To me, his work captures the spirit of the time- graceful, sensual and very stylized. Not to mention that I love greyhounds- often found in a number of his etchings.

  10. Tiffalily December 9, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    I’d really like a dresser. You recently posted one at the south sac Thrift Town for 80 bucks with a bad leg, and I thought wow, my kingdom for a truck! It was exactly what I have had in mind for months and a price point I can manage (unlike most other mid-mod things I crave). It would go directly across from my bed, so I could gaze at it fondly first thing each morning. I would say something like, “Good morning dresser, please produce something cool and classy to wear from within your magical depths, preferably that needs no ironing.” And it of course, would. (And provide all the accessories because for me that is the hardest part.) I moved into a 1970s condo a couple of years ago that was untouched, from the original owner. The big rooms, large windows, lack of goofy adornment (it doesn’t even have baseboards!) so appealed to me, but I just didn’t know why. Then I earned about the mid-century modern aesthetic and I thought, ah, I could do that here and make a blank page really special. I so enjoy your blog, please keep the inspiration coming. Merry Christmas!

  11. Vanessa Cherry December 10, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    On my list this year…vintage aprons. I love cooking in them and love to see them hanging in my kitchen! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

