Craigslist Find: Jespersen teak bed

10 Jan

After just one short year of Ikea bed ownership, Alan and I were fed up with randomly falling through the bed-frame at night due to shifty slats, squeaky creaky grumbling at the slightest sleepy movement, and not having a headboard and losing pillows to the crevice between the wall. This Jespersen frame had been on Craigslist for a few weeks and we decided to take the plunge into proper adult bed-frame ownership.

We couldn’t be happier with our purchase, but of course being a furniture blogger I want to know everything about it. There is limited information I could muster from the label, “Jespersen, Denmark” and think it might have simply been a Scandinavian import from the 1970’s with no designer attached. The Craigslist seller we purchased the frame from had been using the bed, but it originally belonged to her Mother. Oh well, can’t learn ’em all!

The closest I came to any information at all – a June 1979 ad from The Milwaukee Journal.

8 Responses to “Craigslist Find: Jespersen teak bed”

  1. Rose January 10, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    It looks great! Also all those things you said about the Ikea bed are true! I no longer feel like it is a me thing.

  2. toniiii January 10, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    I stayed at my friend’s house in their guest room and felt awful because I thought I broke their bed. It was an Ikea bed and they jut laughed at me.

    Your room is lookin’ hellahecka good, by the way.

  3. April January 10, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    NIce, I love a good arch. Also,LOVE the large print…I need some big art!

    • Serene January 12, 2012 at 11:17 am #

      found that giant needlepoint at the Thrift Town on El Camino!

  4. asbestospressLaura January 12, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    Is that a Heywood Wakefield vanity next to the bed!! I’m so jealous.

    • Serene January 12, 2012 at 11:17 am #

      YES, it is!! With matching stool! I got that sucker on Craigslist from Alameda. :D

  5. Holly August 9, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    This bed was called “The Windsor Bed” and was sold by Scandinavian Gallery/Scandinavian Design of Natick, Massachusetts. It was one of the last designs sold before the retail store went through Chapter 11 in 1988.

    It was very well made furntiure and I see that it is standing the test of time.

    http://www.thefullwiki.org/Scandinavian_Design_(store)

    • Serene August 10, 2013 at 10:00 am #

      Wow, thank you for that! No wonder I’ve seen a few of them pop up on Craigslist before. Did you work with Scan. Design before or did you purchase this bed? I’m curious how you were able to recognize it!

Leave a Reply

