DO NOT WANT: Shabbified Heywood Wakefield Nightmare

19 Jan

I would in no way say I’m a purist when it comes to furniture. Reproductions, spray-painted lamps – you name it, I’ve either done it or thought about it. I’m also not one to shy away from a refinishing project, especially on classic pieces of furniture. But the other day I was alerted to these Heywood Wakefield Sculptura line items being sold at an antique store in East Sacramento and became outraged and overcome with sadness. My boyfriend and I stared at them – trying to justify paying $65.00 for each nightstand, and $125.00 for the dresser. We even OWN matching pieces to this set, and couldn’t justify paying the price for the “refurbishing” they had done.

These wonderful beauties had been poorly refinished and scraped of their former glory, then either slathered with red stain, or dipped into a bucket of discount teal-blue paint. (Which, as you can see, they had much of, and used on that neighboring porch swing.) I dub the color, “1993 Geo Metro teal.” The dresser was rough to the touch, and would snag your clothes like a voracious monster being duped out of a bone.

The shabby chic Geo Metro

Perhaps you think I am overreacting. Just a little paint, just a little stain. They could be revived again! Well dear readers, the hours it would take to strip and sand the layers of blue out from every nook and cranny on these loves would just break my heart, break my brain, and my wallet. Here is what the Sculptura line is supposed to look like with its birch wood color:

If any of you out there are brave enough to take on the task of restoring these nuggets, or – more brash – make them work in your home in their current state, I say, BRING IT ON, BABYCAKES! And of course, send of photos of how it went!

6 Responses to “DO NOT WANT: Shabbified Heywood Wakefield Nightmare”

  1. Nate January 19, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    That is horrible. Those things cost a fortune in good condition.

    • Serene January 19, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      If someone refinished them they could get a fortune!

  2. Jon January 19, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    OMFG!!!!! That has to be the fugliest thing ever.

  3. Rose January 19, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Dang. Those things musta been in really poor condition.
    Those end tables prolly woulda been done more justice in like a dark “get it black” finish. That would probably be an easier color for someone to work with in their home. Teal is demanding! I am saying all this assuming that those pieces were really damaged because I cant imagine anyone (especially an antique dealer) trying to revamp a HW piece if it was in good condition. People already love them how they are.

  4. justine January 20, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Wahh that’s terrible! But I love that you managed to work a Geo Metro into a post – huhlarious. 90s flashback makes me laugh.

  5. deeznutz January 31, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    sharks fans

Leave a Reply

